MarDATA

Helmholtz School for Marine Data Science

   

Going deep with Data Science to understand the largest habitat on our planet better – and to help protecting it

  

The Helmholtz School for Marine Data Science (MarDATA) pools scientific marine expertise in the far north and offers young scientists the unique opportunity to refine Data Science methods specifically for the marine research.

   

Mission

MarDATA has the goal of defining a new type of "Marine Data Scientists" and training them in a structured doctoral program. Scientists from computer science, information technology and mathematics work together on marine topics. This includes modeling on supercomputers, (bio-) computer science and robotics or statistics and big data methods.

„For a long time now, countless measuring instruments have been in daily use on all oceans, permanently generating data on water temperatures, salinity, nutrient concentrations and much more. Our task at MarDATA is to process these data in a useful way.“

Maria-Theresia Verwega

Maria-Theresia Verwega is researching at MarDATA. In her doctoral thesis she wants to improve predictions for earth system models.

Research areas

The doctoral students conduct research in computer science, computer science or mathematics, each in connection with current issues in marine research.

Selection of current doctoral projects

Partners of MarDATA: GEOMAR Kiel, Alfred Wegener Institute Bremerhaven, Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel, University of Bremen, Jacobs University Bremen

      

Curriculum

  • Supervision by a tandem of an expert at GEOMAR or AWI with focus on marine research and a supervisor at a partner university, who is in charge of the information and Data Science methods
  • Obligatory course for a general introduction to marine science
  • Compulsory block courses on methods of Information and Data Sciences: advanced scientific programming, statistics, databases, machine learning, in-depth learning, computer vision and FAIR principles (4 x 3 days)
  • Further joint seminars and colloquia over the entire period
  • Two one-week summer schools at international locations (e.g. at a research station of GEOMAR or AWI or on board of a research vessel)
  • Enrolment in the postgraduate programs ISOS (Kiel) and POLMAR (Bremerhaven) with use of the courses offered there for scientific further education, personal competence training and comprehensive support measures with regard to networking and career development

    

   

Funding and duration of the program

The program extends over three years and offers full funding. The remuneration during the term corresponds to the tariff level E13 of the TVöD.

       

Application and further information

A total of 40 doctoral positions are available, which are advertised and organized in two cohorts (20 at GEOMAR and 20 at AWI). MarDATA locations are Kiel and Bremen/Bremerhaven. The program language is English. The first cohort started in 2019 with 16 PhD students. The second round of applications (another 15-20 positions) will take place in 2021/2022.

    

Are you interested in advancing artificial intelligence and data science for a better exploration of the ocean?

For further information (including upcoming job offers in MarDATA), please contact the coordinator Dr. Enno Prigge.

   

   

The following Helmholtz centers and partner universities are involved in MarDATA: GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI), University of Kiel, University of Bremen and Jacobs University Bremen.

download

MarDATA

Helmholtz School for Marine Data Science

   

Mit Data Science in die Tiefe gehen, um den größten Lebensraum auf unserer Erde besser zu verstehen – und zu schützen

  

Die Helmholtz School for Marine Data Science (MarDATA) bündelt wissenschaftliche Meereskompetenz im hohen Norden und bietet Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern die einmalige Gelegenheit, Data Science-Methoden gezielt zur Erforschung des Meeres weiterzuentwickeln.

   

Mission

Die MarDATA hat das Ziel, einen neuen Typus von „marinen Data Scientists“ zu definieren und in einem strukturierten Promotionsprogramm auszubilden. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Computerwissenschaft, Informatik und Mathematik arbeiten dabei gemeinsam an marinen Themen. Dies umfasst unter anderem die Modellierung auf Supercomputern, (Bio-)Informatik und Robotik oder Statistik und Big Data-Methoden.

„Längst sind auf allen Ozeanen tagtäglich unzählige Messinstrumente im Einsatz, die permanent Daten generieren, zu Wassertemperaturen, Salzgehalt, Nährstoffkonzentrationen und vielem mehr. Unsere Aufgabe an der MarDATA ist es, diese Daten nützlich aufzuarbeiten.“

Maria-Theresia Verwega

Maria-Theresia Verwega forscht an der MarDATA. In ihrer Doktorarbeit will sie Vorhersagen für Erdsystemmodelle verbessern.

Forschungsbereiche

Die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden forschen in der Computerwissenschaft, der Informatik oder der Mathematik  jeweils in Verbindung mit aktuellen Fragen der Meeresforschung.

Auswahl aktueller Promotionsprojekte

Partner der MarDATA: GEOMAR Kiel, Alfred-Wegener-Institut Bremerhaven, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel, Universität Bremen, Jacobs University Bremen

       

Curriculum

  • Betreuung durch ein Tandem aus einem Experten/einer Expertin am GEOMAR oder am AWI mit Schwerpunkt auf der Meeresforschung und einem Betreuer/einer Betreuerin an einer Partneruniversität, der/die die informations- und datenwissenschaftlichen Methoden leitet
  • Obligatorische Veranstaltung zur allgemeinen Einführung in die Meereswissenschaften
  • Obligatorische Blockkurse zu Methoden der Informations- und Datenwissenschaften: fortgeschrittene wissenschaftliche Programmierung, Statistik, Datenbanken, maschinelles Lernen, Tiefenlernen, Computer Vision und FAIR-Prinzipien (4 x 3 Tage)
  • Weitere gemeinsame Seminare und Kolloquien über die gesamte Laufzeit
  • Zwei einwöchige Summer Schools an internationalen Standorten (z.B. an einer Forschungsstation des GEOMAR oder des AWI oder an Bord eines Forschungsschiffs)
  • Einschreibung in die Postgraduierten-Programme ISOS (Kiel) und POLMAR (Bremerhaven): Nutzung des dortigen Angebots an Kursen zur wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung, zum persönlichen Kompetenztraining sowie zur Unterstützung bei Networking und Karriereentwicklung

   

    

Finanzierung und Dauer des Programms

Das Programm erstreckt sich über drei Jahre und bietet eine volle Finanzierung. Die Vergütung während der Laufzeit entspricht der Tarifstufe E13 des TVöD.

   

Bewerbung und weitere Informationen

Es stehen insgesamt 40 Promotionsstellen zur Verfügung, die in 2 Kohorten ausgeschrieben und organisiert sind (20 am GEOMAR und 20 am AWI). MarDATA-Standorte sind Kiel und Bremen/Bremerhaven. Die Programmsprache ist Englisch. Die erste Kohorte ist 2019 mit 16 Doktoranden/innen gestartet. Eine zweite Ausschreibungsrunde wurde Februar 2021 durchgeführt.   

   

Sind Sie daran interessiert, künstliche Intelligenz und Datenwissenschaft für eine bessere Erforschung des Meeres voranzutreiben?

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte den Koordinator Dr. Enno Prigge.

    

   

Folgende Helmholtz-Zentren und Partneruniversitäten sind an MarDATA beteiligt: GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel – federführend, Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI), Universität zu Kiel, Universität Bremen und Jacobs University Bremen.

download