HDS-LEE

Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy

The Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy (HDS-LEE) provides an interdisciplinary environment for educating the next generation of data scientists in close contact to domain-specific knowledge and research.

The doctoral students of the structured doctoral program are trained in all essential elements of information and data sciences as well as in communication and additional key qualifications. As part of their doctoral theses, students advance the development of data science methodologies and harness the power of state-of-the-art data science technologies to solve challenging scientific problems in the domains of life and medical sciences, earth sciences and energy systems/materials science. The educational part of the program is strengthened by individually combined training measures at the Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC).

Besides the Forschungszentrum Jülich other institutions are involved in the graduate school: RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, German Aerospace Center, and the University of Cologne.

More information: www.hds-lee.de

Besides the Forschungszentrum Jülich, other institutions are ivolved in the graduate school: RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, German Aerospace Center (DLR), and the University of Cologne.

more info
download

HDS-LEE

Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy

Die Helmholtz School for Data Science in Life, Earth and Energy (HDS-LEE) bietet ein interdisziplinäres Umfeld für die Ausbildung der nächsten Generation von Datenwissenschaftlern in engem Kontakt mit fachspezifischem Wissen und Forschung.

Die Doktoranden werden in dem strukturierten Doktorandenprogramm in allen wesentlichen Bereichen der Informations- und Datenwissenschaften ebenso wie in der Kommunikation und weiteren zusätzlichen Schlüsselqualifikationen geschult. Im Rahmen ihrer Doktorarbeit treiben die Studierenden die Entwicklung von datenwissenschaftlichen Methoden voran und setzen hochmoderne Werkzeuge der Datenwissenschaften ein, um herausfordernde wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen in drei Anwendungsfeldern zu bearbeiten: Bio- und Medizinwissenschaften, Geowissenschaften und Energiesysteme / Materialwissenschaften. Die Ausbildungskomponenten des Programms werden gestärkt durch individuell zusammengestellte Trainingsmaßnahmen am Jülich Supercomputing Center (JSC).

An der Graduiertenschule sind neben dem Forschungszentrum Jülich, RWTH Aachen University, Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt und die Universität zu Köln beteiligt.

more info
download