Course:

Graphics with R

Thursday, 07.10 - Friday, 08.10.2021 · 09:00 - 17:00
Online

Methods course for the adaptation of classical R-graphs

Are you dissatisfied with the default design of basic R graphics and want to know how to design them better? This course will cover methods for customizing classical R graphs. In addition, there will be an introduction to ggplot2, an advanced and powerful tool for creating graphs with R. Here you will learn how to create refined, meaningful graphs in R to visually describe your research results. The course is at an intermediate level. Therefore, prior knowledge of R is assumed, especially loading and subsetting of data sets.

Content

Modifying base R graphics
This includes font modification, customization of axes and legends, specifying color schemes, adding multiple layers to one graphic and arranging multiple figures to one graphic (layout).
     
Introduction to ggplot2

The R package ggplot2 provides a different “grammar” of building figures with R. It is convenient for complex self-contained figures. The course covers the basic principles of using ggplot2. Further adjustments on the axis, titles, legends, color scheme and layout will be discussed.

The course provides the necessary theoretical background to use R, hands-on examples with best-practice solutions, and practical exercises.

The course is sponsored by Helmholtz Information & Data Science Academy (HIDA) - in cooperation with Core Facility Statistical Consulting  at Helmholtz Zentrum München - German Research Center for Environmental Health (HMGU)

Apply here

Alternativ-Text

Subscribe newsletter

Kurs:

Graphics with R

Mittwoch, 06.10 - Donnerstag, 07.10.2021 · 09:00 - 17:00
Online

Methodenkurs zur Anpassung klassischer R-Grafiken

Sind Sie mit dem Standarddesign der R-Basisgrafiken unzufrieden und möchten wissen, wie Sie sie besser gestalten können? Dieser Kurs behandelt Methoden zur Anpassung klassischer R-Grafiken. Zusätzlich wird es eine Einführung in ggplot2 geben, ein fortgeschrittenes und leistungsfähiges Werkzeug zur Erstellung von Grafiken mit R. Hier lernen Sie, wie Sie raffinierte, aussagekräftige Diagramme in R erstellen können, um Ihre Forschungsergebnisse visuell zu beschreiben. Der Kurs ist auf mittlerem Niveau. Deshalb werden Vorkenntnisse in R vorausgesetzt, insbesondere das Laden und Unterteilen von Datensätzen.

Inhalt

Ändern von Basis-R-Grafiken
Dazu gehören die Änderung der Schriftart, die Anpassung von Achsen und Legenden, die Festlegung von Farbschemata, das Hinzufügen mehrerer Ebenen zu einer Grafik und das Anordnen mehrerer Figuren in einer Grafik (Layout).
     
Einführung in ggplot2
Das R-Paket ggplot2 bietet eine andere "Grammatik" für die Erstellung von Abbildungen mit R. Es eignet sich für komplexe, in sich geschlossene Abbildungen. Der Kurs behandelt die grundlegenden Prinzipien der Verwendung von ggplot2. Weitere Anpassungen der Achsen, Titel, Legenden, Farbschema und Layout werden besprochen.

Der Kurs vermittelt den notwendigen theoretischen Hintergrund zur Nutzung von R, praktische Beispiele mit Best-Practice-Lösungen und praktische Übungen.

Der Kurs wird gefördert von der Helmholtz Information & Data Science Academy (HIDA) in Kooperation mit der Core Facility Statistical Consulting am Helmholtz Zentrum München - Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt (HMGU).

Hier bewerben

Alternativ-Text

Newsletter bestellen