Lecture:

HIDA Lecture: Hate Speech & AI

Thursday, 18.04.2024 · 11 am
online

Speaker: Bert Heinrichs, professor of ethics and applied ethics at the Institute for Science and Ethics (IWE) at the University of Bonn and leader of the research group “Neuroethics and Ethics of AI” at Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Date: 18.04.2024, 11 am

Title: Ethical considerations on hate speech and AI

Abstract

In this talk, the speaker will present some ethical considerations for dealing with hate speech. The main focus will be on how AI can help prevent the spread of hate speech and what problems this may cause. Two sets of issues need to be distinguished: firstly, hate speech on social media platforms and secondly, hate speech generated by LLMs.

While in the one case thoughtless intervention can lead to censorship, in the other there is a risk that innovation will be impaired. It is therefore important to identify convincing ethical compromises and find ways to implement them technically.

Register now!

Bert Heinrichs

Bert Heinrichs is professor of ethics and applied ethics at the Institute for Science and Ethics (IWE) at the University of Bonn and leader of the research group “Neuroethics and Ethics of AI” at the Institute of Neuroscience and Medicine: Brain and Behaviour (INM-7) at the Forschungszentrum Jülich.

He studied philosophy, mathematics and education in Bonn and Grenoble. He received his MA in 2001, followed by a doctorate in 2007 and his habilitation in 2013.

Prior to his current position, he was Head of the Scientific Department of the German Reference Center for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE). He works on topics of neuroethics, ethics of AI, research ethics and medical ethics. He is also interested in questions of contemporary metaethics.

Alternativ-Text

Subscribe newsletter

Vortrag:

HIDA Lecture: Hate speech & AI

Donnerstag, 18.04.2024 · 11:00 Uhr
online

Referent: Bert Heinrichs, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe "Neuroethik und Ethik der KI" am Forschungszentrum Jülich und Professor für Ethik und Angewandte Ethik am Institut für Wissenschaft und Ethik (IWE) der Universität Bonn

Datum: 18.04.2024, 11:00 Uhr

Titel: Ethical considerations on hate speech and AI

Inhalt

In diesem Vortrag werden ethische Überlegungen zum Umgang mit Hate Speech präsentiert. Das Hauptaugenmerk wird darauf liegen, wie KI helfen kann, die Verbreitung von Hate Speech zu verhindern und welche Probleme damit einhergehen können. Dabei wird zwischen zwei Problemfeldern unterschieden: einerseits Hate Speech auf Social-Media-Plattformen und andererseits Hate Speech, die von LLMs erzeugt wird.

Während im erstgenannten Fall unbedachtes Eingreifen zu Zensur führen kann, besteht beim Zweitgenannten die Gefahr der Behinderung der Innovationskraft behindert wird. Es ist daher wichtig, überzeugende ethische Kompromisse zu identifizieren und Möglichkeiten zu entwickeln, diese technisch umzusetzen.

Zur Anmeldung!

Bert Heinrichs

Bert Heinrichs ist Professor für Ethik und Angewandte Ethik am Institut für Wissenschaft und Ethik (IWE) der Universität Bonn und Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe "Neuroethik und Ethik der KI" am Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Er studierte Philosophie, Mathematik und Pädagogik in Bonn und Grenoble. Er schloss sein Studium 2001 mit dem Magister ab, promovierte 2007 und habilitierte sich 2013.

Vor seiner jetzigen Tätigkeit war er Leiter der wissenschaftlichen Abteilung des Deutschen Referenzzentrums für Ethik in den Biowissenschaften (DRZE). Er arbeitet zu Themen der Neuroethik, Ethik der KI, Forschungsethik und Medizinethik. Er interessiert sich auch für Fragen der zeitgenössischen Metaethik.

Alternativ-Text

Newsletter bestellen