HEIBRIDS

Helmholtz Einstein International Berlin Research School in Data Science

Looking into the vastness of the universe or predicting earthquakes – Data Science at HEIBRiDS has a broad horizon

  

The Helmholtz Einstein International Berlin Research School in Data Science (HEIBRiDS) utilizes a unique research environment that enables research into the core methods, algorithms and processes of digitization from different perspectives and transports knowledge between different disciplines.

HEIBRiDS brings together six Helmholtz centers and four university partners from the Einstein Center Digital Future (ECDF), which focuses on core digitization technologies, from digital health to digital industry and the digital humanities. The participating Helmholtz centers have first-class expertise in the fields of molecular medicine, astrophysics, polar and marine research, aerospace, materials science and geosciences.

Photo: ECDF/PR/Felix Noak

„HEIBRiDS enables us to look at the even bigger picture and truly think outside the box. That’s why I try to look at my topic from a data sciences perspective at every stage, too, and use methods that maybe haven’t been used by anyone else before.“

Gregor Pfalz

Gregor Pfalz is a doctoral student at the HEIBRiDS. He analyzes data from the sediments of Arctic lakes to make climate predictions.

Photo: ECDF/PR/Felix Noak
The first cohort of current HEIBRiDS doctoral researchers 2020. Photo: ECDF/PR/Felix Noak

Mission

In a structured and interdisciplinary doctoral program, young scientists will receive training in Data Science applications in a wide range of scientific fields.

The goal of HEIBRiDS is to train a new generation of researchers who are both qualified Data Scientists and understand the requirements and challenges of those disciplines in which Data Science has become indispensable.

   

Research areas

The participants of the HEIBRiDS program are working in the research areas of Imaging, Machine Learning & Deep Learning, Mathematical Modeling, Data Management, and High Throughput Data Analysis.

Topics of the current doctoral projects

Partner of HEIBRiDS: Alfred Wegener Institute, German Electron Synchrotron, German Aerospace Center, German Research Center for Geosciences, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine and the Einstein Center Digital Future in Berlin with Technical University, Charité University Medicine, Free University and Humboldt University

   

Curriculum

  • Supervision: tandem supervision by a university and a Helmholtz partner; biannual meetings with both supervisors; annual meeting with the interdisciplinary Thesis Advisory Committee
  • Courses for the scientific and transferable skills training: Individually designed curriculum according to the respective research profile. Access for all HEIBRiDS doctoral candidates to courses from an extensive range of courses offered by the Berlin University Alliance and the Helmholtz partners, as well as courses specially organized for the doctoral candidates in the program
  • Mandatory participation in the PhD Seminars and the Data Science Lectures, held twice a month 
  • HEIBRiDS Retreat: Presentation of one's own research project and feedback from the program PIs at the annual HEIBRiDS Retreat
  • Participation in (international) conferences

   

     

Funding and duration of the program

The program will run for four years and offers full funding. The remuneration during the term corresponds to the tariff level E13 of the TVöD or the TV-L (depending on the institution where the employment takes place).

    

Application and further information

A total of 25 doctoral positions are available, all of which have already been filled. The HEIBRiDS location is Berlin, but depending on the disciplinary connections, there are different locations for doctoral students in the Berlin area. Program language is English.

   

     

The following Helmholtz centers and partner universities are involved in HEIBRiDS:

Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI), Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ), Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB), Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin (MDC) und das Einstein Center Digital Future mit Technischer Universität Berlin, Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Freier Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

download

HEIBRIDS

Helmholtz Einstein International Berlin Research School in Data Science

In die Tiefen des Universums blicken oder Erdbeben vorhersagen – Data Science bei HEIBRiDS hat einen weiten Horizont

  

Die Helmholtz Einstein International Berlin Research School in Data Science (HEIBRiDS) nutzt eine einzigartige Forschungsumgebung, die die Erforschung der Kernmethoden, Algorithmen und Prozesse der Digitalisierung aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln ermöglicht und Wissen zwischen unterschiedlichen Disziplinen transportiert.

HEIBRiDS vereint sechs Helmholtz-Zentren und vier Universitätspartner aus dem Einstein Center Digital Future (ECDF), das sich mit Digitalisierungs-Kerntechnologien, von der digitalen Gesundheit über die digitale Industrie bis hin zu den digitalen Geisteswissenschaften, beschäftigt. Die beteiligten Helmholtz-Zentren verfügen über erstklassige Expertise in den Bereichen Molekularer Medizin, Astrophysik, Polar- und Meeresforschung, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Materialwissenschaften und Geowissenschaften.

Foto: ECDF/PR/Felix Noak

„HEIBRiDS ermöglicht uns noch weiter über den Tellerrand zu schauen – und wirklich outside the box zu denken. Ich versuche, mein Thema daher bei jedem Schritt auch aus datenwissenschaftlicher Sicht zu betrachten und Methoden anzuwenden, die vielleicht noch keiner angewendet hat.“

Gregor Pfalz

Gregor Pfalz ist Doktorand an der HEIBRiDS. Er analysiert Daten, die aus den Sedimenten arktischer Seen stammen, um Klimavorhersagen zu treffen.

Foto: ECDF/PR/Felix Noak
Die erste Kohorte der aktuellen HEIBRiDS-Promovierenden 2020. Foto: ECDF/PR/Felix Noak

Mission

In einem interdisziplinären Promotionsprogramm werden junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in datenwissenschaftlichen Anwendungen in einem breiten Spektrum naturwissenschaftlicher Bereiche ausgebildet.

Das Ziel von HEIBRiDS ist, eine neue Generation von Data Scientists auszubilden, die die Anforderungen und Herausforderungen derjenigen Disziplinen verstehen, in denen die Datenwissenschaft unverzichtbar geworden ist.

   

Forschungsbereiche

Die Teilnehmer des HEIBRiDS-Programms promovieren in den Forschungsschwerpunkten Imaging, Machine Learning & Deep Learning, Mathematische Modellierung, Data Management und Hochdurchsatz-Datenanalyse.

Übersicht über aktuelle Promotionsprojekte

HEIBRiDS-Partner: Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie, Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin und das Einstein Center Digital Future in Berlin mit Technischer Universität, Charité-Universitätsmedizin, Freie Universität und Humboldt-Universität

   

Curriculum

  • Betreuung: Tandembetreuung durch eine Universität und einen Helmholtz-Partner; halbjährliche Treffen mit beiden Betreuern; jährliches Treffen mit dem interdisziplinären Thesis Advisory Committee

  • Kurse zur wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung und zur Schulung persönlicher Fähigkeiten: Individuell gestalteter Lehrplan entsprechend dem jeweiligen Forschungsprofil. Zugang für alle HEIBRiDS-Doktorandinnen und -Doktoranden zu Kursen aus einem umfangreichen Kursangebot der Berliner Universitätsallianz und der Helmholtz-Partner sowie zu speziell für die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden des Programms organisierten Kursen

  • Obligatorische Teilnahme an den Doktorandenseminaren und den Data Science Lectures, die zweimal im Monat stattfinden

  • HEIBRiDS-Retreat: Präsentation des eigenen Forschungsprojekts und des Feedbacks der Programm-PIs auf dem jährlichen HEIBRiDS-Retreat 

  • Teilnahme an (internationalen) Konferenzen

   

Finanzierung und Dauer des Programms

Das Programm erstreckt sich über vier Jahre und bietet eine volle Finanzierung. Die Vergütung während der Laufzeit entspricht der Tarifstufe E13 des TVöD bzw. des TV-L (abhängig von der Institution, an der die Anstellung erfolgt).

  

Bewerbung und weitere Informationen

Es stehen insgesamt 25 Promotionsstellen zur Verfügung, die bereits alle vergeben sind. HEIBRiDS-Standort ist Berlin, je nach disziplinärer Anbindung ergeben sich abweichende Standorte für die Promovenden im Berliner Umkreis. Programmsprache ist Englisch.

   

     

Folgende Helmholtz-Zentren und Partneruniversitäten sind an HEIBRiDS beteiligt:

Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI), Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ), Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (HZB), Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin (MDC) und das Einstein Center Digital Future mit Technischer Universität Berlin, Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Freier Universität Berlin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

download