MUDS

Munich School for Data Science

Analyzing gene sequences to predict diseases or developing robots monitoring their own health status – Data Science at MUDS has many facets

   

The Munich School for Data Science (MUDS) offers graduate training for future data scientists in the Munich Metropolitan Region – a top location for computational sciences in Germany.

    

Mission

The goal of the MUDS is to educate the next generation of Data Scientists at the interface of Data Science and four different application areas with a structured doctoral program: biomedicine, plasma physics, earth observation and robotics. Although the specific research questions in these four domains are different, all of them have both purely data- and model-based research approaches. At MUDS we aim to explore new ways to connect these two poles.

Partner of MUDS: Helmholtz Zentrum Munich, Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, German Aerospace Center, Technische Universität Munich, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich as well as the Leibniz Computing Center and the Max Planck Computing & Data Facility

      

Research domains

- Biomedicine

- Plasma physics

- Earth Observation

- Robotics

Selection of current doctoral projects

   

Curriculum

  • Supervision: mentoring by 2 PIs, domain- and method-specific; annual meetings with interdisciplinary Thesis Advisory Committee
  • On-boarding phase: Definition of the research project and common basic training for all program participants, set up of an individual study plan
  • Compulsory courses for further scientific education: Block course "Fundamentals of Data Science", participation in two summer schools, two conference participations, participation in MUDS seminar series
  • Courses for the training of personal skills and for career development (transferable skills): Access for all MUDS researchers to corresponding courses offered at the partner locations; in addition, it is possible to attend customized training courses organized by the MUDS office
  • MUDS certificate with a confirmation of participation in the program  

   

  

The curriculum at MUDS

   

Funding and duration of the program

The program will run for four years and offers full funding. The remuneration during the term corresponds to the tariff level E13 of the TVöD or the TV-L (depending on the institution of employment).

   

     

     

Application and further information

Recruiting is organized once or twice a year. The MUDS location and thus location for all courses is Munich. Program language is English. The program starts each winter semester; call for application is annually in fall, and every other year, additionally in spring/early summer.

  

Are you interested in advancing your scientific research at a top location for Computational Science in Germany? Then apply at MUDS!

      

  

The following Helmholtz centers, universities and partners are involved in MUDS:

Helmholtz Zentrum MunichMax Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP)German Aerospace Center (DLR)Technische Universität Munich (TUM), Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich (LMU)Leibniz Supercomputing Center (LRZ)Max Planck Computing & Data Facility (MPCDF)

download

MUDS

Munich School for Data Science

Gensequenzen analysieren, um Krankheiten vorherzusagen, oder Roboter entwickeln, die ihren eigenen Gesundheitszustand überwachen – Data Science an der MUDS hat viele Facetten

   

Die Munich School for Data Science (MUDS) bietet eine Graduiertenausbildung für künftige Data Scientists in der Metropolregion München – einem Spitzenstandort für Computational Sciences in Deutschland.

  

Mission

Ziel der MUDS ist es, mit einem strukturiertem Promotionsprogramm die nächste Generation von Data Scientists an der Schnittstelle von Datenwissenschaft und vier verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen auszubilden: Biomedizin, Plasmaphysik, Erdbeobachtung und Robotik. Obwohl die konkreten Forschungsfragen in diesen vier Domänen unterschiedlich sind, weisen alle sowohl rein datenbasierte als auch modellbasierte Forschungsansätze auf. Die Ausbildung an der MUDS zielt darauf ab, neue Wege zu erforschen, um diese beiden Pole zu verbinden.

Partner der MUDS: Helmholtz Zentrum München, Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Technische Universität München, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München sowie das Leibniz-Rechenzentrum und die Max Planck Computing & Data Facility

      

Forschungsbereiche

  • Biomedizin
  • Plasmaphysik
  • Erdbeobachtung
  • Robotik

Auswahl aktueller Promotionsprojekte

   

Curriculum

  • Betreuung: Methoden- und domänenspezifisches Mentoring durch 2 PIs, einmal pro Jahr Supervision durch ein interdisziplinär zusammengesetztes Thesis Advisory Committee
  • Onboarding-Phase: Ausarbeitung des Forschungsprojekts und gemeinsame Data Science Grundausbildung für alle Programmteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmer, Erstellung eines individuellen, domänenspezifischen Studienplans
  • Obligatorische Kurse zur wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung: Blockkurs „Grundlagen der Datenwissenschaft“, Teilnahme an zwei Summer Schools, zwei Konferenzteilnahmen, Teilnahme an der MUDS Seminarserie
  • Kurse zur Schulung persönlicher Fähigkeiten und zur Laufbahnentwicklung (transferable skills): Zugang für alle MUDS-Promovenden zu entsprechenden Kursen, die an den Partnerstandorten angeboten werden; darüber hinaus ist es möglich, maßgeschneiderte, vom MuDS-Büro organisierte Trainings zu absolvieren
  • MUDS-Zertifikat mit einer Bestätigung über die Teilnahme am Programm    

  

Das Curriculum an der MUDS

   

Finanzierung und Dauer des Programms

Das Programm erstreckt sich über vier Jahre und bietet eine volle Finanzierung. Die Vergütung während der Laufzeit entspricht der Tarifstufe E13 des TVöD bzw. des TV-L (abhängig von der Institution, an der die Anstellung erfolgt).

    

  

Bewerbung und weitere Informationen

Es erfolgt ein bis zweimal im Jahr eine zentrale Rekrutierungsrunde. MUDS-Standort und somit Standort für alle Kurse ist München. Programmsprache ist Englisch. Programmstart ist mit jedem Wintersemester, die Bewerbungsphase findet jährlich im Herbst und jedes zweite Jahr zusätzlich im Frühjahr/Frühsommer statt.

   

Sind Sie daran interessiert, Ihre Forschung an einem Spitzenstandort für Computational Science in Deutschland voranzutreiben? Dann bewerben Sie sich bei der MUDS!

   

   

Folgende Helmholtz-Zentren, Universitäten und Partner sind an der MUDS beteiligt:

Helmholtz Zentrum MünchenMax-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP)Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)Technische Universität München (TUM), Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU)Leibniz-Rechenzentrum (LRZ)Max Planck Computing & Data Facility (MPCDF)

download